OFFICE OF INSTRUCTION

Vice President of Instruction: Dr. Denise Richardson Staff Assistant to the VPI: Tachetta Henry

Division Structure 2021-2022

Division I
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Dean: Dr. Chriss Foster: cfoster@peralta.edu D217, (510) 436-2609
Staff Assistant: Denise Woodward, dwoodward@peralta.edu D216, (510) 436-2425

Arts/Communication

Dept. Tri- Chairs: Monica Ambalal mambalal@peralta.edu Dr. Hilary Altman, haltman@peralta.edu, Sheila Metcalf- Tobin, smetcalftobin@peralta.edu

  • Art (ART) (100200-230)
  • Communication (COMM) (150600)
  • Music (MUSIC) (100400)

Athletics/Kinesiology

Dept. Chair: Inga Marciulionis, imarciulionis@peralta.edu, F205, (510) 434-3849

  • Athletics (ATHL) (696000)
  • Kinesiology (KIN) (083500, 127000)
  • Health Education (HLTED) (083700)

English/Humanities

Dept. Co-Chairs: Evan Nichols, anicholas@peralta.edu & Todd Johnson, tjohnson@peralta.edu F212, (510) 436-2657

  • English (ENGL) (150100)
  • ESL (ESL) (493080)
  • Humanities (HUMAN) (159900)
  • Philosophy (PHIL) (150900)
  • Spanish (SPAN) (110500)

Ethnic Studies

Dept. Chair: Jason Seals, jeseals@peralta.edu, A203, (510) 434-3935

  • African American Studies (AFRAM) (220301)
  • Mexican/Latin- American Studies (M/LAT) (220304)
  • Asian American Studies (ASAME) (220212)
  • Native American Studies (NATAM) (220213)

Lao Community Center-

2325 E.12th Street, Oakland, CA 94601 Coordinator/Outreach: Brenda Mora, bmora@peralta.edu (510) 536-1830

Human Development

Dept. Chair: Michelle St. Germaine, mgermaine@peralta.edu

  • Child Development (CHDEV) (130500-590)

Learning Resources

Director: Mitra Mofidi, mitramofidi@peralta.edu

  • Learning Center (611000-200)
  • Learning Resources (LRNRE)

Library

Dept. Co- Chairs: Nghiem Thai, nthai@peralta.edu (510) 436-2461

Adoria R. Williams, arwilliams@peralta.edu, (510) 619-8789 (Google Voice)

  • Library Information Studies (LIS) (612000)

 Social Sciences

Dept. Chair: Anthony Powell, apowell@peralta.edu, P-308 (510)434-3923

  • Anthropology (ANTHR) (220200)
  • Political Science (POSCI) (220700)
  • Psychology (PSYCH) (200100)
  • Sociology (SOC) (220800)
  • History (HIST) (220500)

 Counseling

Dean: Dr. Lisa Webb, lisawebb@peralta.edu

Dept. Co- Chairs: Derrick Ross, dlross@peralta.edu and Jose Salceda, jsalceda@peralta.edu (510) 434-3972

  • Counseling (COUN) (631100)

Division II
Math, Science, and Technology

Dean: Jason Holloway: jholloway@peralta.edu S441, (510) 436-2426

Staff Assistant: Sinead Anderson, sganderson@peralta.edu S438, (510) 436-2409

Biology & Chemistry

Dept. Chair: Dr. Maria Suarez Rodriguez, msrodriguez@peralta.edu, Laura Cooper, lcooper@peralta.edu

  • Biology (BIOL) (040100, 040300)
  • Chemistry (CHEM) (190500)

Landscape Horticulture

Dept. Co-Chairs: Chris Grampp, cgrampp@peralta.edu H107, (510) 436-2593

Laura Forlin, lforlin@peralta.edu

Staff Assistant: Maril Bull, mbull@peralta.edu (510) 436-2418

  • Environmental Management and Technology (ENVMT) (030200)
  • Landscape Horticulture (LANHT) (010900-910)

Mathematics & Physical Sciences

Dept. Chairs: Sun Young Ban, syban@peralta.edu & Rebecca Uhlman, ruhlman@peralta.edu S-320, (510) 436-2748

  • Astronomy (ASTR) (191100)
  • Geography (GEOG) (220600)
  • Geology (GEOL) (191400)
  • Math (MATH) (170100)
  • Physical Sciences (PHYSC) (190100)
  • Physics (PHYS) (190200)

Business & Real Estate

Dept. Chair: Fereshteh Mofidi, femofidi@peralta.edu (925) 247-4240

  • Business (BUS) (050600-650)
  • Economics (ECON) (220400)
  • Real Estate (RLEST) (051100)

Technology

Courtney Brown courtneybrown@peralta.edu , P-206A, (510) 434-3986

  • Computer Science (CS) (070100)
  • Computer Information Systems (CIS) (070200)
  • Cybersecurity


Division III
Allied Health and Public Safety

Dean: Marie Amboy, S440, (510) 436-2515, mamboy@peralta.edu
Staff Assistant: Nancy Moreno, (510) 436- 2513, nmoreno@peralta.edu

* Microscopy, Genomics, Histotechnology (043000)

Legal Administration

Dept. Chairs:  Mildred Oliver, moliver@peralta.edu and Linnea Willis, lwillis@peralta.edu (510) 434-3936

  • Administration of Justice (ADJUS) (210500)
  • Cooperative Education (COPED)
  • Paralegal Studies (PARLG) (140200)

EMT/Fire Science (FISCI) (213300-350, EMT-125000)

Program Director: Demond Simmons, dsimmons@peralta.edu

Office of Instruction

Vice President of Instruction: Dr. Denise Richardson drichardson@peralta.edu

Staff Assistant to the VPI: Tachetta Henry tachettahenry@peralta.edu

Division Structure 2021-2022

Student Services

Vice President: Dr. Lilia Chavez
Staff Assistant: Vacant
Email: vpssmerritt@peralta.edu
Location: R-113E
Phone: (510) 436-2478

Dean of Enrollment, Ree’shema Thornton R-113G,
(510) 436-2585

Director/Student Activities & Campus Life: Doris Hankins
R-124, (510) 434-3982

 

 

Revised 8-28-2021 (Henry Mai)