OFFICE OF INSTRUCTION

Acting Vice President of Instruction: Lisa R. Cook

Executive Staff Assistant to the VPI: Jamila Saleh

Division Structure 2023-2024

 

Division I
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Dean: Dr. Chriss Warren Foster: cfoster@peralta.edu  D217, (510) 436-2609
Staff Assistant: Denise Woodward, dwoodward@peralta.edu D216, (510) 436-2425

Arts/Communication
Dept. Tri- Chairs: Dr. Hilary Altman, haltman@peralta.edu, Monica Ambalal mambalal@peralta.edu and
Sheila Metcalf-Tobin smetcalftobin@peralta.edu

Athletics/Kinesiology
Dept. Chair: Inga Marciulionis, imarciulionis@peralta.edu, F205, (510) 434-3849

English/Humanities
Dept. Co- Chairs: Neal Skapura nskapura@peralta.edu and Todd Johnson, tjohnson@peralta.edu  F212, (510) 436-2657

Ethnic Studies
Dept. Chair: Jason Seals, jeseals@peralta.edu, A203, (510) 434-3935

Merritt College @ Fruitvale
Coordinator/Outreach: Brenda Mora, bmora@peralta.edu (925) 587-6387 (Google Voice), 2325 E. 12th Street, Suite 202 Oakland, CA 94601

Human Development
Dept. Chair: Michelle St. Germaine, mgermaine@peralta.edu

Education Technology
Dept. Chair: TBD

  • Educational Technology (EDT) (086000)

Learning Resources
Dept. Chair: Mitra Mofidi, mitramofidi@peralta.edu
Learning Center Director: Isela Gonzalez-Santana, isantana@peralta.edu   

Library
Dept. Chair:  Adoria R. Williams, arwilliams@peralta.edu, (510) 619-8789 (Google Voice)

Social Sciences
Dept. Chair: Janine Nkosi, jnkosi@peralta.edu

Counseling
Dean: Dr. Chriss Warren Foster, cfoster@peralta.edu (Counseling Classes)
Dept. Chairs: Leslie Scurry lscurry@peralta.edu & Sara Alturk salturk@peralta.edu

Division II
Math, Science, and Technology

Dean: vacant
Staff Assistant: vacant

Biology & Chemistry
Dept. Chair: Dr. Arja McCray, amccray@peralta.edu

Landscape Horticulture
Dept. Co-Chairs: Laura Forlin lforlin@peralta.edu (510) 436-2418 and Chris Grampp, cgrampp@peralta.edu H107, (510) 436-2593
Staff Assistant: Sharon Clegg (temp), sclegg@peralta@peralta.edu (510) 436-2418

Mathematics & Physical Sciences
Dept. Chairs: Taslima Rehman trehman@peralta.edu and Dan Lawson, dlawson@peralta.edu S-320

Natural History & Sustainability
Program Director: Benjamin Nelson, bnelson@peralta.edu

Business
Dept. Chair: Fereshteh Mofidi, femofidi@peralta.edu (925) 247-4240

Real Estate
Dept. Chair: Angie Williams, angelitawilliams@peralta.edu

Technology
Dept. Chair: Beverly Brooks, bdbrooks@peralta.edu

Division III
Allied Health and Public Safety

Acting Dean: Angela Khoo, akhoo@peralta.edu S440, (510) 436-2515
Staff Assistant: Vacant, (510) 436- 2513

         *Staff Assistant (ALLIED HEALTH): Waaduda Karim, wkarim@peralta.edu S343, (510) 436-2422

Biosciences (BIOSC) (043000)
Dept. Co-Chairs: Dr. Gisele Giorgi, ggiorgi@peralta.edu Feather Ives, fives@peralta.edu

A.D. Nursing (NURS) (123000-020)

Medical Assistant (MEDAS) (120800)

Nutrition & Dietetics (NUTR) (130600-660)

Radiologic Science (RADSCI) (122500)

Community Social Services 
Dept Chair: M. Biancca Parazo, mparazo@peralta.edu

Legal Administration
Dept. Chairs:  Mildred Oliver, moliver@peralta.edu  and Linnea Willis, lwillis@peralta.edu (510) 434-3936

EMT/Fire Science(FISCI)(213300-350, EMT-125000)
Program Director: Demond Simmons, dsimmons@peralta.edu

 

Student Services
Vice President: Dr. Lilia Chavez
Staff Assistant: Vacant
Email: vpssmerritt@peralta.edu
Location: R-113E
Phone: (510) 436-2478
Dean of Enrollment, Ree’shema Thornton R-113G,
(510) 436-2585
Director/Student Activities & Campus Life: Doris Hankins
R-124, (510) 434-3982