Fall 2022- Workshop Series  JCPenney – Suit Up Event Girls Leading Girls
Early Educator Apprentice Program (EEAP) The Unity Council California Women Lawyers
Job Fair Beats Rhymes and Life  Spectrum Center
UPS Recruitment  Before & After School Teacher Merritt Tutors
MANOS MANOS Legal Processing Assistant
Courtroom Clerk CUTCO Faces of Agriculture: USDA Speaker Series
Legal Administrative Assistant The Shepherd Law Group- Bookkeeper Paralegal


Welcome to the Career Center at Merritt College!

Sara Alturk provides academic, career, and personal counseling and enjoys working with students from diverse backgrounds. She is passionate about working with students from different backgrounds and experiences to help them reach their job placement, educational, and career goals. She most enjoys students navigating the community college to help them feel empowered in their process and continue to reach their career and academic goals. Sara Alturk is the Career Counselor at Merritt College. She started her educational journey at UC Berkeley with a bachelor’s degree in Social Welfare and a minor in Education and received her master’s degree in College Counseling from San Francisco State University.

*The career center will provide remote + in person services to assist you with your career questions. Please contact Sara Alturk at salturk@peralta.edu with any questions or concerns you may have regarding your career journey or click here to schedule your appointment. 

*Please see a counselor for access codes for some websites listed below

Career and Major Exploration

 

Eureka https://eureka.org/
PathSource http://www.pathsource.com/start
Roadtrip Nation https://roadtripnation.com/edu/merritt
Interviewing  http://merrittcollege.interviewprep.app
My Next Move https://www.mynextmove.org/
O*Net Online https://www.onetonline.org/
CA Career Zone https://www.cacareerzone.org/
Personality Assessment https://www.16personalities.com/
What Can I Do With This Major? http://www.lavc.edu/transfer/majors/default.html

 


Researching Careers

 

Career Cornerstone Center https://www.careercornerstone.org/
Explore Health Careers https://explorehealthcareers.org/
Discover Engineering Careers http://www.discovere.org/discover-engineering/
Occupational Outlook Handbook https://www.bls.gov/ooh/
Learn How to Become https://www.learnhowtobecome.org/
Labor Market Information https://www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/data/occupations-data.html
How To Become A Registered Nurse https://www.edumed.org/how-to-become/registered-nurse-rn/
Engineering Pathways   https://www.titlemax.com/engineering-games-and-projects-from-titlemax-com/
How To Become A Doctor/Pre-Med https://hpa.ucdavis.edu/medicine

 

Career Workshops

 

Resume Cover Letter Major & Career
Interviewing LinkedIn Networking

 

Employment Opportunities

 

Streaming Job Fair https://streamingjobfair.com/
College Central Network https://www.collegecentral.com/Merritt/
Natural History and Sustainability Job Board https://www.merritt.edu/nhs/jobs-bulletin-board/
Together Bay Area https://www.merritt.edu/nhs/advisory-board/
Applications & Infrastructure Security Advisory Board https://www.merritt.edu/securityprogram/advisory-board/

 

Classes

 

Counseling 57
  • Offered in Fall & Spring!
  • In-depth career and life planning: Self-exploration, identifying values, interests, needs and goals; development of skills for assuming careers and lifestyles over the life span, the influence of career choice on the quality of life, and the development of a career action plan. Designed to assist those students considering the transition of a career change or undecided about the selection of a college transfer major.