PWC Diversity Program- Summer Internship Application- Apply Now PWC Diversity Program- Career Preview SuperStrong: Free Career Assessment School Code: Merritt-explore
 
Youth Retaining Their First Job Entrepreneur Resource Fair

Welcome to the Career Center at Merritt College!

Sara Alturk is the Career Counselor at Merritt College. She started her educational journey at UC Berkeley with a bachelor’s degree in Social Welfare and a minor in Education and received her master’s degree in College Counseling from San Francisco State University. She provides academic, career, and personal counseling and enjoys working with students from diverse backgrounds. She is passionate about working with students from different backgrounds and experiences to help them reach their job placement, educational, and career goals. She most enjoys students navigating the community college to help them feel empowered in their process and continue to reach their career and academic goals. 

*The career center will provide remote + in person services to assist you with your career questions. Please contact Sara Alturk at salturk@peralta.edu with any questions or concerns you may have regarding your career journey or click here to schedule your appointment. 

*Please see a counselor for access codes for some websites listed below

Career and Major Exploration

Eureka https://eureka.org/
What for Work https://whatforwork.com/
Roadtrip Nation https://roadtripnation.com/edu/merritt/roadmap
Interviewing  http://merrittcollege.interviewprep.app
My Next Move https://www.mynextmove.org/
O*Net Online https://www.onetonline.org/
CA Career Zone https://www.cacareerzone.org/
Personality Assessment https://www.16personalities.com/
CCC My Path https://www.cccmypath.org/

Researching Careers

Salary Surfer https://salarysurfer.cccco.edu/SalarySurfer.aspx
Explore Health Careers https://explorehealthcareers.org/
Discover Engineering Careers http://www.discovere.org/discover-engineering/
Occupational Outlook Handbook https://www.bls.gov/ooh/
Learn How to Become https://www.learnhowtobecome.org/
Labor Market Information https://www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/data/occupations-data.html
How To Become A Registered Nurse https://www.edumed.org/how-to-become/registered-nurse-rn/
Career Coach  https://ccc.lightcastcc.com/browse-careers
How To Become Pre-Med https://hpa.ucdavis.edu/medicine
CareerSpring https://careerspring.org/

 

Career Workshops

Resume Cover Letter Major & Career
Interviewing LinkedIn Networking

Employment Opportunities

Streaming Job Fair https://streamingjobfair.com/
College Central/Merritt https://www.collegecentral.com/Merritt/
Natural History and Sustainability Job Board https://www.merritt.edu/nhs/jobs-bulletin-board/
Together Bay Area https://www.merritt.edu/nhs/advisory-board/
Applications & Infrastructure Security Advisory Board https://www.merritt.edu/securityprogram/advisory-board/

Classes

Counseling 57
  • Offered in Fall & Spring!
  • In-depth career and life planning: Self-exploration, identifying values, interests, needs and goals; development of skills for assuming careers and lifestyles over the life span, the influence of career choice on the quality of life, and the development of a career action plan. Designed to assist those students considering the transition of a career change or undecided about the selection of a college transfer major.

Service Area Outcomes 

SAO #1
  • Identify Major/Career: After completing career assessments through the Career Center, students will be able to identify at least one potential career and related major.
SAO #2
  • Opportunities for employment, internship, or major: After acquiring career knowledge and skills from the Career Center, students will be able to pursue opportunities for employment, internships or learn the steps in the process of seeking employment (Resume, cover letter, applications, cold calling, introductory emails, and informational interviews).