Image: Banner image of campus logo Merritt College

Classified Senate Home

The 2017-2018 Merritt College Classified Senate

Nine senators serve on the Merritt College Classified Senate. As five senators were timing out, elections were held in May. One senator, MCCS President Waaduda Karim, was up for re-election and now continues to serve as president. The senators are (* denotes newly elected):

Maril M Bull
*Doris Hankins
Walter Johnson
Waaduda Karim
*Sahra Omar
Ron Perez
*Phasasha Pharr
*Reagan Pruitt
Margie Rubio


The Merritt College Classified Senate is the officially elected representative of the classified staff in the shared governance process. Through direct engagement and participation, its goals are to foster communication and understanding among all college constituents; to improve staff morale by providing a forum for the voice of classified employees; and, ultimately, to enhance the quality of campus services, thus providing Merritt College students with an exceptional educational experience.

2016-2017 Goals

  • Investigate a viable source of funding, develop a thorough plan, and request formal approval for 0.25 FTE reassigned/release time for the MCCS President to engage in collegial governance.
  • Create a personnel algorithm to facilitate the referral of questions and issues to the most knowledgeable and/or qualified staff person to handle the situation.
  • Sponsor two classified professional development activities (one per semester), scheduled when the majority of staff are available, and advocate for managers to shut down offices/service areas and to strongly encourage their staff to participate.
Members of The Merritt College Classified Senate participated in the
October 2016 Great California Shakeout. Spot the senators! (3 in above)