Image: Banner image of campus

Associated Students of Merritt College Home

It’s Student Government Election Time!

Merritt College will hold its student government elections during spring 2018. Application deadline to apply is March 5, 2018. Voting will be April 10 and 11, 2018. If elected, you will serve your campus during the 2018 – 2019 academic year. We invite and encourage all students to participate in this election season. Here’s your chance to run for student government, and in the process:

• Gain strong leadership experience

• Engage with students to make a positive impact on your campus

• Get involved with campus student government events and activities

•  Create a climate of social justice and change to your campus

•   Have your voice heard

To be a candidate and run for office, please click on the links below:

Candidate Application Application

Election Timeline

Candidate Petition

Should you have further questions, please contact Dr. Herbert Kitchen, Director of Student Activities at Merritt College:

Get involved, make a positive change within the Peralta Community College District, and on your campus.

Find out more about the elections at the Peralta District website:


2nd Annual Lunar New Year Celebration

See article and more photos HERE. 


WOW! A Week of Welcome
for Spring 2018

WOW!! (Week of Welcome) at Merritt College got off to a great start! ASMC ensured that students were fed each day. Their goal was to feed over 200 students, and they did just that. Monday, Sandwiches; Tuesday, Tacos; Wednesday, Pizza; Thursday, Southern style smoked BBQ.  Each day, ASMC leaders greeted new and returning students with class schedules and planners and answered any questions they might have. WOW also thanked our students for enrolling at Merritt, and we support and encourage them throughout the spring semester with campus activities and socially enriching events. This spring, WOW had the sounds of 106 KMEL on campus. The link below has all the pics and fun had by all during their visit to campus. ASMC and the entire Merritt community wish students, staff, faculty and administrators a successful and meaningful spring 2018!

Click HERE to see more photos! 

Click HERE or below for more news and a slide show!

Spring Students Welcomed with Fun Activities and Great Service!


Find out how to join ASMC! Fill out an application
by going to the Student Activities Office in R-124. 


Welcome Week Activities Greet Fall Students
(See story and more photos here)


Fall 2017-18 ASMC Swearing In and Scholarship Awards

Newly sworn-in ASMC members, participants, and guests, including
Trustee Linda Handy, President Marie-Elaine Burns, and Student Activities and Campus Life Director Herbert Kitchen, enjoyed the festive 

See lots more photos HERE. 

2017-2018 ASMC Board: LaRhonda Reed, President; Iris Martin, Vice President; Gerardo Jeronimo, Treasurer; Briana Williams, Secretary; Montel Floyd, ICC Chair; Senators: Mabel Kwarteng, Michelle Getter, Dionne “Jordan” Jackson, Di’Shea Thomas, Ti’Chelle Davis, Raymond Batiste


Associated Students of Merritt College is the student body government organization of the college comprised of students and their elected and appointed student officers.The goal of the Associated Students of Merritt College is to give a voice to all Merritt College students allowing them to become part of the college community. Some of our major responsibilities include:

  • Appointing students to campus-wide committees.
  • Being a part of the shared governance process in the development of college policies and annual budget
  • Adopting and overseeing use of an annual budget
  • Allocating funds for new programs and projects
  • Granting club charters
  • Providing and administering a program of activities and services for students.

ASMC builds student leadership skills, advocates for student success, and provides students with extracurricular opportunities in student government, ASMC activities, clubs, and more.

We urge you to come to our meetings, be a part of ASMC, and have a say in the decision-making at your college!